Day 116: I’ve got the plague

Not really BUT the traditional summer cold has finally made it’s way over to my body. I haven’t had a cold in ages and man am I grateful for that. The sinus pressure was so intense yesterday I thought my eyes were going to pop out of my head. My wonderful loving husband helped take care of me last night – brought me lemon tea with honey and rubbed my face to help release the pressure till I fell asleep.

I dreamt of cake.

Not a bad thing, considering some of the OTHER dreams I’ve had. I’ll take dreaming of cake over unpleasant things any day of the week.

In other news I have tried to sign up to take the BCBA exam for the past week, but the website keeps crashing while I’m in the middle of doing the application. The crappy thing is that you HAVE to apply for the exam online – there’s no other option. I have to sign up by July 1 to take the exam in August. I’m in a little bit of a pickle. Their office is only open from 9-4 mountain time, so I only have a certain window to address the issues. Hopefully, I can get this settled today.

Speaking of behavior analysis….

I was at work the other day when a lady and her daughter came in to order a birthday cake. No big deal, happens every day, right? Totally. She says to me, “You look familiar, do I know you?” I said, “I’m not sure – have you been in before?” No, I haven’t. “Have you watched My Little Pony?” She laughed and we both kinda shrugged and went on with the cake order for her daughter’s birthday.

It was a really fun design and I love working with kids on THEIR birthday cake design. They love being a part of the process and customizing it for their special day. We get to the end of the process and decide to move forward with the order. I ask for her name and the light bulb went off – I snapped my fingers and said, “I know you! You own ****! One of the ABA companies I worked with at ****!” She said, “Yeah, that’s it! I don’t usually say ‘you look familiar’ but I’m so glad I did! I tend to only recognize people in their environments, ahah – how are you?”

I gave her a quick synopsis of what’s transpired over the past few months and that I plan to take the BCBA exam in August. She said, “I’m glad I ran into you – we were actually asking about you last week. Are you looking for work? We are hiring and wanted to talk with you. We know how you work and think it would be great!”

THIS IS REAL LIFE, GUYS. I’m at work and get offered work because of how awesome I was at my previous work. It took everything in me not to lose my shit right then and there. I had to keep my cool. Note to self: lose shit later.

Of course I said that would be wonderful! I’d love to ABA part time and get back to working in the CILAs and everything! She gave me her card and said to be in contact. That’s on the docket for later today.

It made me feel so incredibly validated. I was so depressed, overworked, underappreciated, cut down, disliked, you name it at my old work – to have outside people say, “Hey, we think you and what you do are awesome, come work with us” was exactly what my soul needed. Validation that what I do, what I know, how I work, how I am is GOOD. I can’t tell you how amazing that makes me feel.

I don’t want to leave the bakery and I don’t plan on it. I love what I do too much. I love designing cakes and being in the highly creative environment. It’s so much less stressful that what I was doing before. I don’t want to get caught up in that stress again. At least, not now – I’m not ready for that. I don’t think my nerves and emotions are ready to go back in to that type of work full time. I look forward to speaking with her about the possibilities and expectations later on today.

So let’s see, today I have to call the BACB and get signed up for the exam, send off all my verifications to the BACB, work on my portion of the ABA study group, work on my presentation on sustainability as a guest speaker for TCC, call the ABA lady about work, make my mom’s birthday cake and not die from this cold. Today is just an ABA kinda day, I suppose! Good stuff.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

Leave a Reply

