Day 105: ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

I haven’t posted in well over a week and that’s because a lot of things have been going on and it’s been hard to keep up. I think one of the easiest ways to catch y’all up is to post my hubby’s status from the other day:

So I really haven’t had the chance to talk about everything going on in my life lately, but now that it all has sorta settled down I can talk more details. First, a few weeks back now on 5/24, I married my best friend. We had an earlier wedding than planned so we can both be on a single health insurance plan. Everything is still a go for 10/27, and we hope you all can still make it because we have quite the bash planned. Next, a week after that, I quit my job at Patriot to start a new career in the medical cannabis industry. Let me first just say that I had the opportunity to work with some wonderfully passionate people, and it really recharged my outlook on work. Everything there was going extremely well, EXCEPT my allergies. They decided that being around mass quantities of plant matter was not for them, and I began to break out in hives, sneezing fits, and sinus induced headaches. After a couple weeks of deciding if my dream job was worth all the physical pain it was causing me, I chose to resign. Today, thanks to some very generous employers, I began work back at Patriot. Although it is not my ideal job, it is giving me the opportunity to… WORK TOWARDS BUYING MY GRANDPARENTS OLD HOUSE!! Melinda and I feel this would be a perfect fit for our family, and we are doing everything that we can to make sure that we can purchase this home. You guys, You never know what kind of curveballs life is going to throw you. All you can do is step up to the plate and take a swing. So just stay positive, recognize why you are doing what you are doing, and keep at it. Much Love, Keps
It’s been a rollercoaster the past week or so. It was hard to see him in so much physical pain as well as be gone for twelve hours every day. I know going back to his old job isn’t his ideal, but I appreciate the choices he made. He is making the choices to try and push forward so we can move in to a house of our own. So that we can be our own unit and have our own space. To have a house with a YARD for the kids and the dog to run around in. That idea is so exciting.
Tonight we meet with his family to kinda solidify a plan. It’s a SUPER anxiety-ridden experience. We have had a few setbacks in trying to move in to a house. We have an even bigger setback with getting his grandparents house. It’s going to take a LOT more cash in hand than we anticipated. We are hoping that, with the support of our loved ones, we will be able to move in after our wedding in October.
The idea of it not happening and us not having our own space, to have to stay in a basement that smells like mold, to have another year without a yard…. It kills me.
I feel like my kids have grown up without a real space. I think every parent thinks of having the backyard space for their kids to run around and play in. Not having that makes me feel like a failure as a parent. Granted, I have done the best I could with what I’ve had…. Folding slides, water tables, collapsible pools, sidewalk chalk, a balance beam… It’s just not the same though. I always have to worry if Kaylee is going to run in to the street or down the alley. What kind of trash is she going to pick up and try to put in her mouth? And by trash, I mean literal trash. We live off a busy street and across from a barber shop and people are fucking disgusting – empty food items, used condoms, beer cans, drug paraphernalia, dirty clothes – you name it and it’s been on our property. Because people are fucking gross. There have been shootings in the barber shop parking lot and drug deals in the alley. I just want my kids to be in a safer place, where they can run and be safer than where we are now.
I really hope this works out. I don’t think I can truly and effectively convey how I feel in my heart. I just really, really, really hope this works out. Kevin has complete faith that it will and that’s one of the biggest reasons I love him so much. He is truly one of the best human beings on this planet.
I mean, really, he willingly and openly embraced my special little family. He jumped right in and loves the kids like they were his own. He has bonded with both of them and it makes my heart so happy to be with someone who loves boy and girl child almost as much as I do. I guess it’s a good thing I married him, right? ; )
Anyway, that’s what’s been happenin’. Work has been going super great still and I couldn’t be happier with what I do and where I’m at. I had my first behavior analysis study group on Tuesday and it went REALLY well. It felt so good to be with some of my cohort friends, reviewing, teaching – it felt really really good. It was super encouraging. They keep telling me after I pass the exam to get my supervisor cert and teach. Let’s hope I pass the exam! I’ll take it in August, then find out in October. Ugh. Waiting. I hate waiting.
Again, I’m super patient in almost all aspects of life, but the ones I’m not? I’m the worst.
Allright, time to get this day rockin’ and rollin’. I hope everything is going well for you guys.
Thanks for stopping by.
I am glad you exist.
Leave a Reply

