Spoonful of Sugar: Overnight Oats

Hey everyone in interspace land!

I have finally gotten around to writing a new post. I’ll be delving in to the latest shenanigans in a separate posts. Here, I am going to talk about my latest breakfast obsession: Overnight Oats.

Now, let me start off by saying: I hate oatmeal. Hate it. I don’t like the texture and I think it flavorless and gross. It smells so yummy then I go to eat it and I’m disappointed every. Single. Time.

I’ve been trying to eat healthier and one of the steps was to make a better breakfast. I don’t have much time in the morning, so I’m not about to cook myself breakfast everyday. I don’t like cold or reheated eggs because it tastes odd to me. So for a girl on the go, I need something that packs a whollop and easy to do.

I decided to see what all the hullabaloo was about with overnight oats and OH. MY. GOD. YALL. I fell in love. I’ve been eating overnight oats pretty much every morning for the past month. I like to eat it cold, but the rest of my fam likes to warm it up – so really it’s up to you!

Here’s one of my favorites ; ) I hope you enjoy it!

 

01

Gather your supplies! Things I like to use: old fashioned oats, almond milk, flavored Greek yogurt, chopped almonds, chocolate chips, brown sugar, strawberries and bananas

02

Grab your jars and have them ready to go.

03

1/2 cup old fashioned or steel cut oats on the bottom of the jar – this is so they can soak up all the yummy liquid

04

1/2 cup milk – I really like vanilla flavored almond milk. It’s nice, light and adds some more flavor to the overall dish.

05

06

Chop up them raw almonds, uhn.

07

Add about 1 tablespoon of chopped almonds to your jars

08

Add about 1 tablespoon brown sugar

09

Add 1 tablespoon chocolate chips

10

User friendly tip: Peel your banana about half way. Slice it down the center, then slice the pieces directly into the jars.

11

12

User friendly tip: Use your knife to cut your strawberry in to fourths. Slice the bits straight in to the jar.

13

14

Add about 1/3 cup greek yogurt

That’s all there is to it! Shake it up, if you like. Just mix it up before you eat. There are all different kinds of mixes, but this is one I haven’t gotten sick of yet.

If you try it, please let me know what you think! I’ll try to post some more recipes too. I’ve made a tropical mix and blueberry pie. Bon apetit!

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

 

Leave a Reply

