Day 55: wearing your emotions

I need to gain better control of my emotions and how I wear them on my face some times. I’m generally good at it, but when things are really not going great, it starts to show.

I am really over this benefit right now. I wrote to the venue to let them know I had to cancel and they are saying that they have a nonrefundable deposit policy unless that room is rebooked… Now, this would have been the third year running working this particular venue and I don’t recall that policy nor is said policy stated any where. I have had a really great relationship with them over the past few years so this feels like a real slap in the face.

I’m not rolling in money by any stretch of the imagination and I understand how business works but let’s show some compassion, yeah? I have dealt with so much shit behind the scenes in regarding the benefit you wouldn’t even imagine. I have dealt with backstabbing, attempted sabotage, bad mouthing, lies and now keeping money. Welp.

Saying I am glad I am done and passing the torch is an understatement. Don’t get me wrong, a lot of good has come from it but I am done. I don’t want to deal with any of it any more. Time to focus on other things.

People are greedy and selfish. I don’t get anything out of the benefit. Everything was donated. I never recouped expenses or anything like that. When I say everything was donated, I mean EVERYTHING WAS DONATED.  I don’t think I will ever understand people. Maybe I understand them too much. 

Oh well.

Tomorrow is a new day. Maybe I will get to go to trivia tonight and that will help.

I am going to work some of the weekend now that I don’t​ have to worry about the benefit. I know I need to do something or I will just get super depressed. My friends have been really great and it’s nice to have options. 

On the bright side of things, this is my last week of class for my program, woo! On the work front, I am going to get trained in barista shenanigans by Intelligentsia and have to take care of my Basset certification. Maybe I can part time bartend somewhere for extra money or something. 

We shall see.

Anyway, I needed to vent and get that off my chest. I feel a little better now.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

Leave a Reply

