Day 49: you’ve been doing this for 49 days?

I asked my son what I should title today’s entry and that’s the response I got. That’s what happens when you ask a 10 year old for a quippy title.

Today was a rollercoaster of emotions.

Started off high, had a major dip, major rise and my body is trying keep up with it all.

My morning started off pretty solidly: woke up, got ready for work, caught up on RuPaul’s Drag Race (you betta WERK), ate breakfast and took my happy butt on to work. Work was going really well, found out I’m going to start learning how to do wedding consultations (SO. EXCITED.) and got a voicemail from my son’s school.

Uh oh. That’s generally not good.

I have a Pavlovian response to voicemails from Boy Child’s school. Sup, PTSD? I started to feel the panic, so I excused myself to make the call to his school and get the skinny on what happened this time.

I will say, though, Boy Child has had a FANTASTIC year. This was the first phone call we got all year, so I’ll give credit where credit is due.

After talking with the social worker, I found out that, while on the bus ride home, another boy told him he needs to go on the treadmill and lose weight.

Boy Child’s response? Oh, he simply told the boy to, and I quote, “Suck my dick.”

Oh, good. That’s nice.

I also found out: he immediately regret saying that. After he said that to the other boy, e became distraught because he knew he shouldn’t have said that. He began crying and became worried about what his Dad and I would say. The teacher on the bus calmed him down, his Dad spoke with him as well as the social worker and principal. Boy Child actually asked the social worker to call me and fill me in on what happened. THAT is a HUGE step for him. We are really proud that he stood up for himself, recognizing what he did wasn’t the best of options, and made sure we were all informed. That’s more than what most ADULTS do. So, again, we give credit where credit is due.

Kevin and I sat with him and told him as such. We also talked about what you CAN say instead of, well, you know. He really is a good kid and I’m very proud of how he is growing socially. I suppose getting punched in the face after threatening someone taught him a little something too.

After I had that phone call, I had difficulty regaining focus at work. As I was headed back to the floor, my boss goes, “Hey Melinda, here’s your pay stub. I hope you like the surprise.” I was still in my post-phone call daze and said, “oh, thanks! I’m sure I will.” She had a big smile on her face and walked away.

When I checked my stub I was VERY happy with my surprise. I really do love where I work. It’s so positive. At the end of the day, I was helping close up shop and the other owner said to one of the decorators, “Isn’t Melinda the sweetest? She is just so nice and pleasant. I absolutely love her.” The decorator genuinely agreed with an, “I know, right?! She’s so great!”

They have no idea how much that means to me. Every time someone says something complimentary, it makes me want to cry. It feels so good. I told them how much I enjoy coming to work every day and how much of a relief it is to hear, “Hey, you’re a rock star; you’re doing great!” It means far beyond words.

I feel blessed and loved. I love that my work doesn’t consume me and it leaves me free to feel and problem solve. Man, what a difference.

Okay, time to read more of The Hobbit to Boy Child before bedtime.

I hope you are all doing well and that you had a good day.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am most certainly glad you exist.

2 thoughts on “Day 49: you’ve been doing this for 49 days?

Leave a Reply

