Day 47: banana bread and buttholes

Today was fairly productive.

I woke up, ate breakfast, exercised (1 down, 2 to go!), and took a shower. Then I had a really nice talk with Meghan, the founder of Krew Wellness. She and I had a really great talk about food and eating the rainbow. It was really great timing because right after I went to the grocery store.

This week on the menu:

Strawberry Banana Bread Overnight Oats (breakfast)

Mediterranean Salad Jars (lunch)

Easy Caprese Pasta Salad (M)

Thai Salad with Coconut Rice (T)

Sweet Potato Street Tacos (W)

Leftovers on R

Fun Dinner Friday (always provided by Kevin)

Pizza (Sat)

TBD Sun

Pretty tasty things on the docket. And I was really excited about all of it. I actually took pictures of all the meal prepping I did today so I could share them all with you. I spent a good handful of hours getting everything ready and raring to go… I’m working the closing shifts at work this week, so I figured I’d be pretty awesome and get everything ready so all my S/O needs to do is come home and cook for the family….

Pretty bitchin’ right?

Welp.

Kids came home and that was dandy. Mom came home, also dandy. Then in walked Mr. Doomcloud. I cheerily greeted him (which I do because he’s handsome, love him, and am generally excited to see him) and told him about my day and that everything was prepped and ready to go for him this week. He was quiet and brooding. I asked if everything was okay. He said Yeah, my back hurts and I’m super excited about dinner on Wednesday (in the most facetious and dick-headed way possible). I looked at him, said YOU’RE WELCOME and returned to making dinner.

We ate and it was delicious. We had tasty leftover Lamb cake. I took Girl child with me to pick up my refill and came home. I sat with Boy child and we did homework together while my Mom had tax clients pick up their taxes.

She and I had a talk too. Some of the things she said to her clients seemed very passive aggressive and didn’t make me feel all that great BUT! We talked about it. Like civilized adults. It was actually really great. We both said how we felt, got resolve and moved on with the night in a very positive way.

I still feel sad though. I’m really excited about this journey I’m on. I’m trying really hard to do things well. I hear him and boy child downstairs playing video games and having a great time. I’m glad he’s in a better mood now, although I’m not.

Like, here’s the thing. We are a family of five, right? We aren’t going to please everyone all the time. There are plenty of times that I make things for the four of them that I won’t eat because it’s what they like. Easter dinner was a perfect example. I fucking hate Ham. I don’t like it. It’s not my most favorite thing. Does that mean I won’t cook it? No. The other four like ham, they requested ham so I made ham.

On Wednesday we are having Sweet Potato street tacos. Kevin doesn’t like sweet potatoes. So, being me, I bought chicken and have it sitting in a marinade so that he doesn’t have to eat sweet potatoes on his tacos…. then I proceed to prep everything else that goes along with the dish, including dicing jalapenos. Which my wonderful self forgot to wear gloves and now every time I touch my eyes it stings. Can’t wait to take my contacts out later.

Anyway, there’s all of that and the only thing he says to me is a super freaking sarcastic “Can’t wait for dinner on Wednesday.” Cool. Glad I just did all of that for you. Butthole.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that Butthole. He’s my A+, number 1, Duke of New York Butthole. He’s still my all-time favorite and I’m going to marry that Butthole. Just sometimes….. well, he’s a Butthole. Today was one of those times.

I have to say I feel a little bit better writing about his Buttholishness. Maybe it’s because every time I type butthole I giggle a little.

I’m an adult.

Anywho. Sometime within the next few days I’ll post about overnight oats and all the tasty things I made today. Tomorrow I’m taking my Easy Caprese Pasta Salad with me to work as a Thank You For Being Awesome token of appreciation. I hope they like it.

I also hope you all had a wonderful holiday, whichever one you celebrate.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

Leave a Reply

