Day 42: the meaning of life, the universe and everything

Spoiler Alert: Life is whatever you want it to be.

I have been enjoying my new job immensely. Beyond immensely. I get to price edible art every single day. My God, it’s a beautiful thing. I get to interact with others to help make their event special by creating custom goodies. How is that not fantastic?

Plus, dat quarter coffee. Uhnnn. ; )

One of the best things about my new gig is the people I work with. Everyone is so friendly, inviting, and just wonderful. They already asked me to hang out!

Maybe that seems like a weird thing to be excited about. It’s nice to work somewhere and feel… accepted. Genuinely accepted. What a difference it makes. I was getting ready to leave today and one of the decorators ran up front and said, “Wanna see a fun cake before you go?!” Another one already started joking that we are sisters (thanks to a customer who said we looked alike). I have… work friends. I haven’t had that in so long. I was so lonely at work that this is a most welcome change.

In other news…

Our house got hit with paintballs, again. Super cool thumbs up to whomever decided our house needed some splashes yellow. Much appreciated.

I should start a kickstarter or something – a Help us GTFOutta Dodge fund. We live off of a main street, on an alley (where drug deals happen) and diagonally across from a barber shop (which has had shootings in the parking lot). We live in a super great area. We don’t have a yard for the kids or dog to run around and play in. There’s ALWAYS trash in our porch, parkway, and side yard. ALWAYS. I’m 99% certain we could clean it every day and have a garbage bag full. We have really respectful people in our neighborhood. I don’t really think people would help us move, but it’s a nice thought.

We still don’t have word on Kaylee’s device. It’s so frustrating. I have been working on this since flipping February of LAST YEAR. Obnoxious. Thank you, insurance company, for hindering my daughter’s ability to communicate. You also get two super cool thumbs up. Maybe you should find the paintball guys and hang out some time.

Speak to Me is two and a half weeks away. Oy. It’s a labor of love. I’m really proud of this event. I’m super excited to say it has grown to a point where I have to change hands. The event is now growing to incorporate all kinds of aerial (lyra, silks, etc) not just pole and pole silks. It will be a bittersweet moment. I don’t think I’ll miss the headaches inherent with planning an event though ; )

Boy Child and Fur Child’s birthday are in a month. Ohh boy! I can’t believe that. How crazy. Time most certainly does fly.

I think that brings us up to speed for today.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

Leave a Reply

