Days 24 & 25: a little bit of sweetness

I love my kids. I really do. They are rambunctious balls of feisty energy with intermittent breaks coming from sleeping (if they choose to do so) and eating (which they almost always do). I can hear them in the next room while I type. Girl child is giggling like a mad woman while Boy child says, “No! No kicking! You stay here while I get your feeding! MOOOMM, Can we give Kaylee a Groundation?!?” Whatever “groundaton” means, of course. I said no.

Being removed from the stress of my job has allowed me to be free and open for my kids again. It’s a good feeling. I have been feeling more and more like myself. My self is a pretty awesome person, you know. A fun, outgoing, funny, talented, well-read, goofy person. I worked hard to be that person. It’s nice to get reacquainted.

Over the past few days, I have spent time in a very creative bakery, attended an aerial silks class at Studio Venus with one of my nearest and dearest, began re-reading The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien to Boy child for the third time, and been making my way slowly but surely through Ready Player One by Ernest Cline while drinking my most favoritest of the caffeinated beverages (an awesome anniversary present from my Mustachioed Man), Intelligentsia Coffee.

This picture pretty much sums up my Sunday morning. I’m beyond okay with this.

17547625_10158373257965534_1405359720_o.jpg

I have to say: I am absolutely in love with my Kindle Paperwhite, by the way. I had asked for one for Christmas and LAWD, has it been fantastic! Millions of books at your fingertips with pop up dictionary, references, highlighting passages, etc, etc, and etc!! I’ve been able to devour book after book without having to go anywhere and at a quarter the cost of a paperback.

TRAITOR! QUISLING! RAT! SCAB! FINK!

I know. I am. I feel almost guilty about not buying paperbacks. There is something about the smell of books and worn pages that pleases my soul. Picking up a book that you have read countless times feels like picking up an old friend. Each one is a gem in its own right. Crackling pages from age, broke spines, water-stained and dog-eared pages – a slim piece of technology could never replace the well of emotions from a hand-written note in the margin.

But, time and technology presses onward.

Speaking of which, it’s time to wake the Man child for today. Someone has partied rather moderately this weekend and I, being the loving and wonderful almost-wife that I am, have kept the restless natives at bay so he could catch some extra winks.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

 

Leave a Reply

