Day 23: and in all things, give thanks

A package arrived today.

I had literally just walked in to the house when there was a knock on the door. I went to the hallway, looked to the door and no one was there. Hmph, strange. I went back in to the kitchen to think about lunch… But I immediately went back to the front door. Maybe it’s someone dropping something off for my mom. With her being a former tax accountant, it’s not uncommon during this time of year to have random drop offs. So I went to the front door. Time to get the mail anyway.

I opened the door and saw an Amazon package sitting there… What did Mom order now? Oh, it has… my name on it... hm. I didn’t order anything. Maybe it’s something for the benefit and Anne forgot to tell me. With the benefit being a little over a month away, it’s not uncommon for raffle prizes to randomly show up on the doorstep. So I opened the package.

It’s a brand new sketchbook and pencils.

My eyes filled up and before I knew it, tears of joy were streaming down my face. On a good makeup day, too! I snapped a picture and quickly questioned the usual suspects, “Did you do this??” And got no’s all around.

One part of my self-imposed self-care has been doing a drawing a day. Generally the drawing is something suggested by someone and I take a stab at it. I had mentioned on Facebook on a few days ago that I was going to need a new book and pencils soon, as I have been burning through the pages.

I took a look at my new book. I knew exactly what I was going to put on the very first page.

Thank you, mystery person, for this incredibly thoughtful gift. I cannot fully express my gratitude and heartfelt thanks enough.

And thank YOU for stopping by.

I am glad you exist.

03.24.17.png

Leave a Reply

